A place to get away from it all and write….

Great review on this novel…I am going to have to check it out!

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

While watching an old episode of The Good Wife on Amazon Prime the other night, Alicia Florrick commented that To Kill a Mockingbird (1960) made many lawyers. It reminded me that I had recently read Go Set a Watchman (2015), the newly released “prequel” to that classic and monumental American novel by Harper Lee. I know there’s been a lot of controversy about the publication of Go Set a Watchman and much discussion about whether or not it is a “good” novel.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’m going to stand on my own and say that I sincerely enjoyed Go Set a Watchman, and I saw value in its message. Many have lamented the fact that Atticus is a racist in the novel, and that it isn’t as well written as To Kill a Mockingbird. However, it is extremely well written, even if somewhat like a draft, and Atticus’s faults make sense…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

