A place to get away from it all and write….

Free Post

I have been blogging all week for the A to Z challenge about movies. It’s one of my passions. I love to see my favorite actors and actresses play different people: some real, most fake.  There are  problems with film though. I can’t change the outcome. However this is remedied with my true passion and that’s writing. 

Here’s an except from my Needs Analysis paper I wrote for one of my English classes at SNHU: 

            My writing career began at an early age, in which I took to writing tidbits of stories here and there on scraps of paper. I graduated from napkins and scraps to notebooks. It was then I realized that I wanted write fiction. I loved the idea of creating my own world and characters. This lead to me taking a chance and participating in The Young Authors program in grade school. However, being that Stephen King was my first favorite author, my stories were too graphic and violent for this particular contest. So I put it aside for a few years.

When I picked up writing again, I decided to take things seriously and become a writer, a published writer. Upon reviewing my work, I realized that I tend to write drama, new adult fiction, and young adult fictional work. By narrowing my genres, I began to dive into what the best way to publish my work and who will want to read my works of art.

As I progressed in my writing and reading, I decided that writing as a career wasn’t for me. This was when I was eighteen or so, so I started college pushing my writing aside. Over the course of the next four years I wrote some on and off, but most of my writings were pushed into hiding in a folder on my desktop.

About five years later, I decided to pick up writing again. I had graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Psychology and Sociology. Both of these degrees has helped me write characters and how they formulate their relationships.

I started working as a Customer Service Representative for a major utility company and picked up writing again. I had a lot of free time waiting for customers to call in about their bills. This is where I came up with my idea for my first completed novel, Jaded Proposal. This book took about three months to complete and then I am still in the editing process. I have written several query letters and sent them to literary agents, but I have come to the conclusion that self-publishing would be the best route for me. Part of me has been looking into publishing it via Kindle Direct or Create Space. I already have the cover and permission from the photographer that took the photo as well as the model.

Recently I was a finalist in a contest that required the first 250 words of my manuscript. This specific manuscript I had written for National Novel Writing Month, or Nano month. I know several authors that participate in this contest and find it rewarding. This has been the third year I have participated. From this contest I know that I can buckle down and write a decent piece of fiction in thirty days. It’s every empowering to know that you have the tenacity to finish something of that scale……”

I know it’s long, but if you have any suggestions feel free to comment. 

Till tomorrow’s post, F for…..shhhhh it’s a secret!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

