A place to get away from it all and write….

Divergent REview

My friend picked me up after work at 6pm to head over to the local theatre to view Divergent at 7pm. We arrived forty five minutes early and my anticipation grew with each passing minute. I had recently finished the triology and was still reeling over the ending. I’m not going to post it, but lets just say it was unexpected at best. So I had a general idea of what I was going to see. 

I don’t understand how the casting is done in films. I also don’t know a screen play is written based off of a book. it confuses me to no end. How does a character’s description change from having blond hair and light eyes to black hair and eyes? It just doesn’t make sense. I have to say again how much I commend the casting crew that did Harry Potter. They nailed it. Not so much for this series.

The Shailene Woody chick was fine for Beatrice Prior, a bit tall and average. The girl in the book was described as small and meek. The Theo guy was so not what I pictured for Four, I mean come one, he’s suppose to be hunky and a teenager. He just comes across as a thin and lean dude with no muscle definition. I thought that Sylas from Weeds was a better fit. Or even one of the guys from Hunger Games. 

And then there’s Christina. So the body type issue is the opposite for her. It’s like they decided that they were going to switch the description up between the twoo girls. Zoe Kravitz is what Beatrice Prior was suppose to look like, short, tiny and meek. Christina was suppose to be tall, lanky, and a loud mouth. It’s that simple. The casting was messed up. 

Also there were no old people in Dauntless and Eric was the one that did more of the delegating. instead there was this other guy that talked alot. 

That leaves us with Caleb ( I don’t like the actor that plays him), Jeanine (Kate Winslet nalled this part, but needs to have glasses. In fact all of the Euridte need glasses, its a defining feature that they failed to miss in reading the book, and Marcus (he’s too old, he needed to be casted as someone younger). 

Moving on to the plot…..they decided as filmmakers to toss the book out the window and do what they want. First off, Four was alone in the room where he was controlling the simulation. Not across the hall from Janine. Also Tris doesn’t stab Janine in the hand with a knife, no does she inject her with the serum that makes her a part of the simulation. It’s crazy and didn’t happen. they just pulled that whole part out of their butt. I hate when directors do that. What did they just find that the way the writer wrote the book was too lame. Hey it was enough action for me!! But I could get over all of that if it weren’t for the nagging feeling that they are going to destroy the next two books into movies. 

I know most of you are probably thinking I should have never went to see the movie. But I had to. it was the same as when I went to see The Hunger Games, although there weren’t as many changes as there were here. I guess it’s just upsetting to me. But at least I know that good casting can come from somewhere, I mean look at what they did with Harry Potter!!

What do you think?

Comments on: "Divergent REview" (1)

  1. I did not read nor watch Divergent, but I know how you’re feeling. I had the same reaction when I heard about the casting of The Hunger Games.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

