A place to get away from it all and write….

I had seen the previews for this show for some time, but never really thought about reading them until a friend told me what it was about. So I decided that I would listen to them via youtube. All the books are on there. There are three books in the series: Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant. 

When I started reading Divergent, I was taken to a new society, it reminded me of the hunger games. Instead everyone in Divergent is divided into Factions. 

Image

 

In the Hunger Games everyone is divided by districts. 

In this future world, you are either Abnegation, Erudite, Dauntless, Candor, and Amity. Each one of these groups carries a distinct group of rules and regulations that dictate your role in society. 

The story is focused around a girl named Beatrice Prior and her struggles at the choosing ceremony. This is where you choose which faction you would like to be a part of for the rest of your life. Again this is where it reminds me of the Hunger Games. Unlike the Hunger games the children don’t kill each other. Instead when you join a faction you go through a “initiation” and depending on what faction you choose the initiation changes. For Beatrice she chose Dauntless, this faction is in charge of protecting the city. 

As you dive deeper into the books we see that there are some flaws in this perfect society. For example, those who are able to think for themselves and tend to branch out are called Divergent. 

I’m not going to ruin the story for you, but this got me thinking about the future of our wold and how we as  society is so concerned with control. We try to control the populations, crime, and even the information we receive. But why? Is there are harm in knowing the truth? It could be to limit the pandemonium that will occur if we really knew the truth. 

Image

So this is the cast of the characters. They are missing two major characters Uriah and Zeke, they are brothers and play a significant role in the first and second and third book as well. I don’t know what they are going to do about them being absent. They would have added to the racial diverse group that is depicted in the book. 

Oh well I am sure they will ruin the book, but I will let you know on Friday when I go see the movie. Wish me luck. 

 

Comments on: "Book Review: Divergent Series" (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

