A place to get away from it all and write….

Thanks to recent updates at work I am unable to post blogs at work on my breaks and lunch. So I wrote this blog on Monday and I’ll write another one tomorrow. 

So the Grammy’s were last night in case you have been living under a rock here’s the break down. The big winner of the night was Daft Punk. Okay so I get the fact that you want to be robots, but God made you human and running around with those creepy gloves and helmets just make you weird. I mean what is the cute fuzzy hamster guys from the Kia commercial wore those all the time. Ewww…

Moving on, Macklemore and that guy that does his music won a few awards along with Lorde and Justin Timberlake. But FINALLY Bruno Mars got the credit he deserved. I mean the guy has been rocking it for years now.

So how were the performances you ask. Here are a few of my favorites!

http://youtu.be/TpJ1npMCyqE: katy perry dark horse

http://youtu.be/HU3IRc5R1hw: Taylor swift

http://youtu.be/7g0pX9mrK0M: Chicago and Robin Thicke

http://youtu.be/mwcL6A9qYJs: Imagine Dragon and Kendrick Lamar

These are the best ones of the night. I know Ringo Star played the drums for Sir Paul McCartney, but these are just theones I liked.

Plus here’s a story I wrote for a friend’s English class. The prompt she gave us: There’s a play in her building where people leave things they don’t want. One day she’s on her way to work and she sees a birthday cake sitting there. …..and this is what I came up with.  Now this is a rough draft tell me what you think!!

A Birthday Froze in Time

I opened the freezer and stared at the bakery’s familiar white box. It was a birthday cake, it was for my niece she was three years old when I bought the cake. I shut the freezer.

“You know you can’t leave it in there.” My husband said quietly from the doorway.

“I know, but it doesn’t have to be moved right this instance.” I snapped and continued packing up the bowls in the adjacent cabinet.

“Keeping it isn’t going to change things. We did everything we could do. Now it’s time to move on.”

“I know alright. I know just leave me alone.”

He sulked out the room. I stared after him. I know it wasn’t his fault, but that didn’t stop the anger that filled me. I closed another cabinet and opened the next one and started packing up the glasses. My hand found a small pink and purple cup that belonged to her.

Part of me wanted to hurl it across the room, but I didn’t instead I threw it in the box labeled “goodwill”. It wasn’t like she was going to miss it.

I moved on.

We had lived in this two bedroom apartment for the last four years, just long enough for my husband to complete his residency. Everything was fine until my sister was released from Jail. See when she went in she was pregnant and after she had the baby she asked us to keep her until she was released. So we did. She named her Elizabeth Anne after our mom. Her nickname was Lizzie.

My husband was always working at the hospital and mothering Lizzie gave me something to do. But I did what anyone would do in my situation and made the mistake of getting attached.

I didn’t know it was going to hurt this bad when she left. Hell I never expected this.

**

It was raining and snowing at the same time when the cab pulled to a stop in front of my building. I scurried out, arms full of grocery bags and Lizzie’s birthday cake. I opened the front door and spotted my sister sitting near the elevator.

 “What are you doing here?” I asked rushing over to her. We lived in a decent apartment building I didn’t want anyone to know we were related, even though we looked just alike.

“Surprise, I’m out. Been clean now for three months. I gotta place. It’s small but it’s mine.” She rambled. Her jean jacket was torn and her she looked strung out. There was no way I was buying that she was clean.

“Okay well that’s good! I’m glad to hear that. But why are you here? You could have called.” I attempted to cover the despair I was feeling in the pit of my stomach.

“I tried. I mean, only once, but I thought I should come in person instead. And I came to get my daughter.”

I blinked a few times. Did I hear her correctly? “What?”

“Marnie, I came to get my Lizzie you have her still don’t you?”

Part of me wanted to lie and tell her that Children and Family Services took her away, but I couldn’t. “Yeah I have her.” I paused and pulled off my wet cap. “Yes, I’m sorry, she’s at the sitters.”

She sighed and smiled, “Oh good, you had me worried. Can I see her?”

“I guess.” I went to the elevator and pushed the button. I couldn’t believe this was happening, today of all days. “Carrie, you should’ve have called.”

She wrung her hands agitated, “I’m sorry I just figured since you didn’t have a job you’d be home.”

“I don’t have a job,” I smirked. “I’ve been raising your kid, that’s a full time job in itself.”

“That’s not what I meant. I’m sorry. Is she okay? I mean is she smart?” she asked and I frowned.

“Yes, she’s perfect.” I faced her in the elevator. “So perfect. She has this cute little laugh.”  I stopped myself from continuing, remembering this woman was here to take my baby away.

 We boarded the elevator and I pushed my floor.

“Tell me more about her.” Carrie begged.

I stared down at her shoes. They were those old black Ked’s we use to wear when we were teenagers. They were black so it was hard to tell if they were wet or not. I was sure they were. “No I’m sure you’ll find out about her soon enough.” I said as the elevator dinged signaling we have reached my floor. I picked up my grocery bags and Lizzie’s cake I had special ordered for her, it was decorated with a horse and had fresh strawberries between the two layers of cake, her favorite.

I unlocked my apartment while my sister talked about all the things she had learned in jail and rehab center. She was now working at a grocery store down the street from her apartment. When she worked Lizzie would stay at a sitter in the same building as her. She had it all set up. She was even taking a cooking class at the local community center in her neighborhood. 

“I don’t understand why you didn’t call. I mean we could have had a party or something.” I said walking into my living room and depositing my keys in the small glass bowl stand near the front door.

“I don’t need to call, Marnie. She’s my daughter. Now where is she?” She demanded and started yelling for her.

“Calm down, I’ll go get her.” I went to leave and she tried to follow. I turned to stop her. “Let me get her and bring her back here. It will be easier. She might freak out.”

“I’m her mom, she won’t freak out.”

“You haven’t been in her life for the last three years. Remember that.” I said with a clam voice.

“Fine, whatever.” She agreed arms crossed.

“Thank you.” As I left, I thought about taking Lizzie and going to the hospital where my husband worked. He would figure out a way I could keep her. I was raising her after all.

I knocked on my neighbor’s door and she answered with Lizzie right behind her. She greeted me with a grin, “Mommy!” She raised her arms up for me to pick her up and I gave in. She was barely thirty five pounds. I could tell she was going to be thin like her mom. She wrapped her little arms around me and I hugged her back.

“Honey what have I told you, I’m your aunt, not your mommy, but I have good news your mommy is here today.”

“Really?” she asked with a goofy grin on her face.

Then I explained what was going on to the sitter and asked her to pray for me. We left and headed back to my place.

“Yep, she’s ready to meet you are you …are you ready to meet her?”

“I guess.” She said and then began telling me about the day coloring and watching a cartoon about a princess she loved. I listened attentively, but didn’t really hear a word she was saying; I was more worried about my sister. How did she even find me? I guess it was the return address on the letters I would write her.

When we walked in my sister was staring angrily at a picture of my husband, Lizzie, and me on the beach that was taken last summer.

“We took a trip to San Francisco to see the ocean. Lizzie had a good time. Isn’t that right?”

“Yeah. Are you my birth mom?” she asked my sister in a small voice as soon as she was on the floor.

My sister nodded and bent down to her. “Yes I am.”

Lizzie frowned up at me with questioning green eyes, but went over to her mom and hugged her. 

My sister picked her up and squeezed her tight and Lizzie didn’t complain.

It was then I noticed again at how thin; her brown stringy hair was down. There was some color to her cheeks, but her eyes were hollow. I couldn’t imagine Lizzie loving her.

“You should go.” I said without thinking.

“No, not without my daughter.” She said hugging Lizzie tighter.

“No, I don’t want to go.” Lizzie cried and twisting in her mother’s arms.

“Wait I’m sorry that came out wrong. Please stay for dinner, we are having a party for Lizzie, she’s three today. It’s her birthday.”

“If you let me stay for the party I’ll go with you.” Lizzie said in her small voice to her mom.

My sister looked at her and them and put Lizze down. “Okay, what are we having?”

“Chicken and green beans, my favorite.” Lizzie said and dragged her mom to the kitchen. I followed 

Lizzie screamed when she saw the cake. It was just what she wanted. Her face was all smiles and sunshine when I sent her to her room to play for a bit before dinner. Little did I know she would never get to eat it?

**

“You finished in the Kitchen, Hun?” my husband asked.

“Almost,” I checked the cabinets again. All empty. Everything was packed away.

***

I noticed my sister fidgeting when I walked back into the living room. “I don’t know if this is a good idea. I think we should go.”

“Why are you in a hurry?” I questioned and fixed the flowers in the vase on the coffee table.

“No, I mean I have to work really early in the morning and we have to take a bus home.”

“No I’ll pay for a cab.” I waved my hand and returned to the kitchen to check on the roasted chicken we were going to have for supper.

Something told me turn around, but I ignored it. By the time we ate my husband would be home and he would sort everything out. He was such a good talker.

When I went back into the living room my sister was gone. I sighed. Good riddance. I didn’t want her here anyway. I went to my room to check my jewelry box, she’d only stolen a cheap diamond ring, she might get twenty bucks for it, but that was it. It was just a piece of costume jewelry I had lying around. I learned a long time ago that my sister was a bad seed. She would pawn anything if she thought she could get something for it. Money just slipped through her hand like water.

I went to Lizzie’s and my heart stopped she wasn’t there. I checked all of her favorite hiding spots before calling my husband at work and telling him everything.

Everything happened so fast. The police came and took a report then left. Friends and came over for comfort. I stayed up for several nights just in case someone called or Lizzie found her way home.

Then the call came in the middle of the night. It was from the police. I pulled on some clothes and headed down to the station with my husband. That’s when they told us they found Lizzie, dead, frozen to death next to her mother.

I identified the bodies at the morgue. Lizzie’s little hands were a bluish purple. I tried to wrap her in my coat to warm her, but my husband led me from the place. I was in hysterics.

I spend a week in the psychiatric ward before I had finally coped with the fact that my niece and twin sister were dead.

Part of me thought God was punishing me, but I know now that it’s not the case. I lowered my hand to my stomach and felt it jump. My little baby was hungry. I opened the freezer again and pulled the cake out and cut into it. It’d thawed a bit since it was the last thing in the refrigerator.

I just took a small bite and smiled. I was going to be okay. It was good we were moving. I boxed the cake up and set out on a table in a small foyer where people left thins they didn’t want.

“Goodbye Lizzie.” I whispered and returned to my apartment to get the rest of our things. It was time to leave.

 

 

 

Comments on: "Grammy’s Recap….and a short…." (2)

  1. I liked the story. It was very sad, but sweet too in a way. At first I had a hard time figuring out what was supposed to be flashbacks and what was present, but otherwise it was a good story.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

