A place to get away from it all and write….

Time for a Change!!!

The sun is shining and the wind is blowing a nice warm breeze of fifty degrees outside. I went for a walk and found the birds chirping and people out doing yard work. There were a few other brave souls out running or walking with their dogs. Part of me felt bad because, I have two dogs at home, but every time I take them out they poop in every yard. Okay so I’m exaggerated, but they are old and can only go for about a block before sitting down and refusing to get up. Maybe I should get a treadmill.

After my walk I came home and stretched then enjoyed an awesome smoothie courtesy of Dole. They are cheap and all you do is add juice. This is right up my alley. I am all about convenience.

I am planning on giving my dogs a bath today wish me well and making shrimp scampi for the first time. I got this sauce that’s supposed to be phenomenal. While eating I am going to sit back and watch the Grammy’s so be prepared for tomorrows post.

Here’s what I wrote yesterday, chapter 1 of working title: Willow Brooke

Chapter 1

A shiny black car was parked outside with state issued stickers in the back window. This could only mean trouble for me. As far as I know I hadn’t caused any problems, but that didn’t mean the O’briens weren’t returning me to the orphanage.

I parked my motorcycle and pulled my helmet off before heading inside. Karnie, another foster kid was sitting on the front porch.

“What’s this about?” I asked.

“You,” she said with her dirt brown eyes glistening.

“I ain’t done nothing.” I said.

“Yet, Mrs. O’brien says you and that bike ain’t nothing but trouble waiting to happen.”

I rolled my eyes and went inside. I could hear the grownups talking in the other room, but went to my room.

Packing had always been something I was good at. I could fit a whole weeks’ worth of clothes in a book bag. As soon as I turned eighteen I wouldn’t have to do this anymore. I would find a job and make enough money to get my own place. Then I would be gone. Free of this stupid system that has held me captive for so long.

“Mackenzie James get you butt down here this instant!” hollered Mrs. O’brien.

I grabbed the only picture I had of my mom who ditched me sixteen years ago on the police doorstep. I guess she knew I was going to be a bad seed or something,

Sliding my backpack on, I took a deep breath and headed downstairs.

A woman in a dark blue skirt and matching jacket was sitting at the table with a clip board. Her eyes looked familiar, like I had seen her from somewhere, but where?

“I guess today is your lucky day.” Mr. O’brien said frowning at me.

“Why?” I asked.

“Because it’s not every day that you find out that your birth parents want you back.” Mr. O’Brien said.
“What?” Did I hear him right?

“Don’t play stupid Kenzie, your real parent’s want you back.” Mrs. O’Brien said with a smile.

I didn’t care about them, they obviously didn’t care about me. They gave me up and all. “And no one has answered the question why. Why after all these years? What’s changed?”

“I’ll explain in the car, are you all packed and ready to go?” the woman in blue said. She seemed to be in a hurry.

“So soon? What about the check? She’s been here almost a month?” Mr. O’Brien asked.

“Yes, it’s all right here in the envelope, please do not open it until we leave.” The woman said.

“Fine by me as long as we get paid.”Mrs. O’Brien said.

I glared at them. “Of course that’s all you wanted.”

“Hey food ain’t cheap,” Mrs. O’Brien said.

“Whatever, can I take my bike.” I asked the woman.

“Sure, I understand it’s registered to you and such,” she said.

“Yeah.” I replied.

“Okay well let’s go.” She said and led the way out of the house.

Mr. O’Brien said a couple of choice words to his wife that I couldn’t hear, but neither one of them tried to stop me. I was a ward of the state after all.

“Bye kiddo.” I said to Karnie.

“At least you’re getting out.” Said called after me.

“Don’t worry there will be another me next week, just wait and see.” I said starting my engine.

I put my helmet back on and followed the car of the welfare lady for about an hour before she pulled over at a diner. I parked and we went inside.

We were taken to our seats and she ordered a diet coke with lemon. There was something about the way she ordered that didn’t make me think she was a state worker. It was like she was too good for this place.

“And for you?” the waitress asked.

“Water.”

She left and I stared at the girl in front of me. Her eyes were blue like mine and with her hair pulled back I could tell it was some sort of brownish blonde color.

“You’re not really a social workers are you?”

She giggled and she let her hair down making her seem years younger. “Nope.”

“Okay so why are you here? Why did you get me away from the O’Briens.”

“Because your my sister and that’s what family would do.”

“I think you have the wrong person. I don’t have any family. They dumped me a long time ago.”

“No, she didn’t.”

“She didn’t drop me off at a police department in the middle of nowhere?”

“Yes she did, but she had to.”

“No one has to abandon their baby in the middle of winter. It’s a choice that was made.” I said and got up.

“Please don’t leave. Let me explain.” She said and I sat back down.

“I am hungry.”

The waitress returned and I ordered cheeseburger, fries, and a chocolate shake. She only ordered a garden salad with some kind of vinegrette.

“Who are you?” I asked.

“I told you I’m your older sister.” She said and dug into her purse. “My name is Maggie Mortson, your older sister. I’m eighteen, my favorite color is baby blue anything.” She smiled and took a sip of her Diet Coke.

“How did you find out about me?”

“I was going through some private papers of my mom’s and found your birth certificate.”

So it was true. She slid over a folded piece of paper and picked it up. If I opened it there was no going back. I knew this and I think she did too.

“What are you waiting for. Look.”

I unfoled the piece of paper and sure enough. My name, Mackenzie Jane Mortson-Thienny, born January 29th, 2001. I was born in the small town of Stauton far away from the city. So it was true.

“My mother had an affair with my father and wound up pregnant. She told my father and he forced her to give you up.”

“What kind of power does he have over her?”

“My dad is a nice guy, but there are some things he’s got issues with and cheating is one.”

“But I didn’t do anything. What’s the point now, I’m practically grown now. What you think you can just come into my life and make me see what and who I will be missing.”

“I don’t understand. I thought you would be happy.”

“Happy? What is there to be happy about? I now know that I have a family that I didn’t want.”

“But I’m here I just bailed you out of that rat hole you were living in.”

I laughed. “The O’Brien’s have one of the nicest and cleanest places I have ever lived in.”

“I just don’t understand why you would want to stay there.”

“Because like before you came barging into my life I was doing fine. I was dealing. I was doing just fine.”

The waitress interrupted my rant by placing our food and then left again.

I cut my sandwich into four pieces and started to eat.

“So why not come back with me. What’s the worst that could happen?”

“Uh I get thrown back in the orphanage.”

“I won’t let that happen. Your my sister.”

“Stop saying that.”

“But it’s true.” She said and we finished our meal in silence.

When the bill was laid on the table I reached it first and threw a twenty on the table.

“Where did you get that?” the girl questioned.

“I robbed a bank.” I said and left.

There was no reason to follow her to her house. It was obvious my parents wanted to forget about me. I was going to make it easy for them. 

Comments on: "Time for a Change!!!" (2)

  1. 50 degrees? Lucky you, it’s like 10 degrees here.

    Very interesting first chapter. Very curious to know more.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

